A comprehensive cybersecurity framework recommended by the ACSC

Essential 8 Cyber Security

We take the hassle out of implementing the crucial cyber security measures, ensuring your business meets ACSC guidelines and enjoys enhanced protection.

Essential 8 Made Easy

Protect Your Business, Comply with Australian Regulations

What are the essential eight?

The Essential Eight are a set of cybersecurity strategies devised by the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) to enhance the security of organisations against cyber threats. These strategies focus on key areas to mitigate risks from internet-connected information technology networks. While detailed strategies are not provided here, they generally encompass measures such as application whitelisting, patching applications and operating systems, restricting administrative privileges, and more, designed to strengthen an organisation’s cyber defences.

Why do we need essential 8?

For Australian businesses, the Essential 8 stands as a vital shield, protecting their data, assets, and reputation from relentless attackers. The eight proven strategies, developed by Australia’s cyber experts, tackle the most common attack methods used by cybercriminals.

By implementing these measures, you make practically impossible for attackers to break in. This translates to real benefits:

Reduced risk of data breaches: Protect your customers’ sensitive information and avoid costly compliance fines.

Enhanced reputation: Show stakeholders you take security seriously, boosting trust and confidence.

Improved operational resilience: Minimise downtime and disruption caused by cyberattacks.

Level Up Your Cyber Security

What categories include in Essential 8?

  1. Patch Applications: Keep your software up-to-date to fix known vulnerabilities exploited by hackers.
  2. Patch Operating Systems: Secure your core systems, like Windows or macOS, with regular updates.
  3. Configure Microsoft Office Macro Settings: Block malicious macros in documents and emails to prevent malware.
  4. User Application Hardening: Restrict unnecessary features and permissions in commonly used programs.
  5. Restrict Administrative Privileges: Limit who has full control over your systems, minimising potential damage.
  6. Multi-Factor Authentication: Add an extra layer of security by requiring multiple factors (e.g., password, code) to log in.
  7. Application Control: Only allow authorised applications to run, preventing unauthorised software from causing harm.
  8. Regular Backups: Have a backup plan in place so you can recover data quickly in case of an attack
Essential eight

E8 Managed Services

What we offer?

Strategic Guidance: Understand your unique needs and craft a customised Essential 8 roadmap.

Expert Implementation: Seamlessly deploy each control with minimal disruption.

Continuous Monitoring: Watch over your systems 24/7, identifying and addressing threats swiftly.

Detailed Reporting: Gain clear insights into your security posture and track progress.

Application Control: Manage authorised software, preventing unauthorised access and malware risks.

Third-Party Patching: Ensure even external applications are up-to-date and secure.

Learn more about Essential 8 maturity model

What is the Essential Eight Maturity Model?

The Essential Eight Maturity Model is a free tool developed by the Australian Cyber Security Centre (ACSC) to help businesses assess their implementation of the eight essential mitigation strategies against cyber threats. It defines four maturity levels:

Level 0: No controls implemented.

Level 1: Basic controls in place, but may not be fully implemented or documented.

Level 2: Controls systematically implemented and monitored.

Level 3: Controls optimised and continually improved based on risk assessments and threat intelligence.

What Level of Maturity in the Essential 8 Is My Organisation At?

There are two main ways to determine your Essential Eight maturity level:

Self-assessment: Use the ACSC’s online Essential Eight Maturity Model Tool to answer questions about your implementation of each control across the various maturity levels.

Professional audit: Engage a cybersecurity expert to conduct a comprehensive assessment, identifying strengths, weaknesses, and areas for improvement in your Essential Eight implementation.

Strategies to Mitigate Cyber Security Incidents by ACSC

Implement application whitelisting to control executable files.

  • Regularly patch applications and operating systems.
  • Configure Microsoft Office macro settings securely.
  • Restrict administrative privileges based on necessity.
  • Use multi-factor authentication for sensitive systems and information.


While not strictly mandatory for all businesses, the Essential Eight has significant weight in Australia. The Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) strongly recommends its adoption for all organisations, especially those handling sensitive data or government information. Non-compliance could lead to reputational damage, financial losses, and potential legal repercussions.

Both deal with cybersecurity, but with distinct focuses.

Essential 8: A set of eight foundational mitigation strategies specifically designed to combat common cyber threats. Think of it as a “must-have” security checklist.

SOC 2 (Service Organization Control Type 2): An independent audit report on a company’s security controls related to specific trust principles like security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality, and privacy. It’s more comprehensive and tailored to an organisation’s unique needs.

ISM (Information Security Management): A broader framework encompassing overall data and information security management within an organisation. The Essential Eight falls under this umbrella, focusing on specific technical controls.

Essential 8: Emphasises implementation of specific mitigation strategies against cyber threats, providing a practical roadmap for improving security posture.

There is no specific “Essential 8 legislation.” The Essential Eight are recommended strategies by the ACSC to help organisations mitigate cyber security incidents. While not legally binding, following these guidelines can significantly enhance an organisation’s cybersecurity stance.

An Essential Eight assessment helps you.

Evaluate your current cybersecurity posture: Understand your strengths and weaknesses against common cyber threats.

Identify areas for improvement: Prioritise which controls need more attention to enhance your security.

Demonstrate compliance: Show stakeholders and potential clients your commitment to data protection.

Mitigate cyber risks: Proactively reduce the likelihood and impact of cyberattacks.

A cybersecurity framework is a set of guidelines and best practices designed to help businesses manage and reduce cybersecurity risk. It provides a structured approach for identifying, assessing, and responding to cyber threats, ensuring the protection of information systems and sensitive data. The Essential Eight is one such framework, specifically tailored to the Australian context.

Don't wait for a cyberattack to expose vulnerabilities.

Secure your Essential 8 foundation for a safer, more resilient future!